List of judicial candidates narrows

The Commission on Judicial Selection has announced it is recommending four candidates to Gov. Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the current vacancies in Minnesota’s 10th Judicial District.

These vacancies were created upon the retirements of Judge James Dehn, chambered at Cambridge in Isanti County, and Judge Thomas Hayes, chambered at Elk River in Sherburne County.

Brianne Buccicone: Buccicone is an assistant Anoka County attorney in the civil division, where she represents petitioners in civil commitment proceedings.

John Klossner: Klossner is the first assistant chief public defender in the 7th and 8th Judicial District Public Defender’s Office, where he aids the chief public defender in devising and implementing districtwide policies and procedures and maintains a felony caseload.

Karin McCarthy: McCarthy is an assistant county attorney in the Washington County Attorney’s Office, where she works in the criminal division primarily handling felony cases.

Kari Willis: Willis is an assistant Wright County attorney, where she represents Wright County, including Wright County Health and Human Services, and provides legal counsel in developing policies and procedures.

Minnesota’s 10th Judicial District consists of Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington, and Wright counties.

An announcement of the appointment will be made following an interview process.