Tenth Judicial District candidates recommended to Gov. Dayton

The Commission on Judicial Selection announced June 8 it is recommending four candidates to Gov. Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the current vacancies in Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District. These vacancies were created upon the retirements of the Honorable James Dehn, chambered at Cambridge in Isanti County, and the Honorable Thomas Hayes, chambered at Elk River in Sherburne County. 

Brianne Buccicone: Buccicone is an assistant Anoka County attorney in the civil division, where she represents petitioners in civil commitment proceedings. Previously, she was a special assistant county attorney in the Anoka County Attorney’s Office in the protective services unit, a national product specialist, a national account representative, and an inside account manager at Thomson Reuters, an assistant Ramsey County public defender, and a judicial law clerk to the Honorable Diane Alshouse. Buccicone is a member of the Minnesota Asian Pacific American Bar Association, 8U team manager for the Andover Huskies Youth Hockey Association, and a trainer for Heart Safe Andover. 

John Klossner: Klossner is the first assistant chief public defender in the Seventh and Eighth Judicial District Public Defender’s Office, where he aides the chief public defender in devising and implementing district wide policies and procedures and maintains a felony caseload. Previously, he was the managing attorney and an assistant public defender in the Tenth Judicial District public defender’s Office. Klossner is the secretary of the Cambridge Isanti Hockey Association Board, a past member and former chair of the City of Cambridge Planning Commission, and a previous member of the City of Cambridge Comprehensive Plan Committee.

Karin McCarthy: McCarthy is an assistant county attorney in the Washington County Attorney’s Office, where she works in the criminal division primarily handling felony cases. Previously, she was a staff attorney for Tubman, an attorney for the Family Violence Network, associate attorney at Caswell and Associates, and an adjunct professor at the William Mitchell College of Law. McCarthy serves as the chair of the St. Croix Valley chapter of Minnesota Women Lawyers, is a member of the Alumna Council for St. Catherine University, and the president of the Cottage Grove Public Safety Board.

Kari Willis: Willis is an assistant Wright County attorney, where she represents Wright County, including Wright County Health and Human Services, and provides legal counsel in developing policies and procedures. Previously, she was a judicial law clerk to the Honorable Kim Johnson. Willis is the Drive Wright Program Liaison, a participant of the Children’s Justice Initiative, the Back to School Program, Safe School Meetings, and Permanency Round Table Meetings, and a member of the Truancy Mediation Program and the Multidisciplinary Team for Criminal Sexual Conduct and Abuse Cases.

 Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District consists of Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington, and Wright Counties.

 An announcement of the appointment will be made following an interview process over the next few weeks.