Zimmerman football awards

Sports Reporter

by Eric Oslund

Sports Reporter

The 2016 season did not end the way the Zimmerman Thunder had hoped, losing in the semi-final round of the section tournament to the section champion, Orono. But that one game cannot define their season, overall it was great year.

They ended the regular season with a 7-1 record, their only loss coming in the fourth week of the season against Becker, where they were defeated 19-17. The Thunder would go on to win the remainder of their games, earning a share of the district title with Becker.

Multiple players received honor because of their successful regular-season campaig, which were presented to them on Thursday, Nov. 17.


Haydon Miller – RB/LB – Senior

Ben Schnellman – RB/DB – Senior

Brian Rajchel – RB/DB – Senior

Alex Riley – QB/SS – Senior

Calvin Waterhouse – OL/DL – Senior

Justin Robinson – OL/DL – Junior

Kolby Peacock – OL/DL – Senior

Isaac Fordahl – TE/LB – Senior

All-District Honorable Mention:

Nate Carlin – OL/DL – Junior

Tommy Laabs – QB/DB – Junior

Andrew Thompson – TE/LB – Junior

Thunder Heyer – K – Senior

District Level Awards:

Alex Riley – District MVP

Thunder Heyer – District Special Teams Player of the Year

Kolby Peacock – District Defensive Lineman Player of the Year

Chris Riley – District Assistant Coach of the Year

Tom Kish – District Coach of the Year

The Thunder coaching staff also handed out their team awards at their banquet. These awards included MVPs for offense, defense and special teams, along with the most improved player, the 100% Player of the Year – the player who gives it everything they have each day in practice and in every game – and the Thunder Award – the player who best represents how a Thunder football player should conduct themselves on the field, in the classroom and as a part of the community.

The coaching staff also gave out awards to the ninth grade football team, who went 8-0 during the regular season, and named the 2017 team captains.

Team Awards:

Alex Riley – MVP – Offense

Kolby Peacock – MVP – Defense

Thunder Heyer – MVP – Special Teams

Aaron Koch – RB/DL – 100% Player of the Year

Tucker Budreau – OL/DL – Most Improved

Isaac Fordahl – Thunder Award

Ninth Grade Awards:

Jake Pool – MVP – Offense

Brett Howard – MVP – Defense

Tim Vorobyev – Thunder Award

Jackson Lietha – Most Improved

2017 Team Captains:

Nate Carlin – OL/DL

Tommy Laabs – QB/DB

Jake Pensinger – WR/DB

Justin Robinson – OL/DL

It should also be noted that Riley was selected to play in the 2016 Minnesota Football Showcase as a defensive back. This is an All-Star game that consists of the best seniors in the state of Minnesota and it will be played at U.S. Bank Stadium on Saturday, Dec. 3, at 3 p.m.