Brought to you by ECM Publishers, Inc.
Tell us                   what you think
New rules allow absentee voting to be done without reason. Have you voted absentee this year? Do you plan to? What do you think of this new option for voting?
Write us at editor.erstarnews@ecm-inc.com and let us know. — Jim Boyle, editor

Five people filed affidavits for candidacy for Zimmerman’s four elected offices that voters will fill Nov. 4. The deadline was 5 p.m. Aug. 12 and was followed by a two-day period in which candidates may still withdraw.

Zimmerman Mayor and City Council

Zimmerman Mayor and City Council

Incumbent Dave Earenfight and challengers Jan Nicodemus and Dave Horvath will run for the mayor’s seat, a two-year term. Incumbent Tony Brisbin will run unopposed for a four-year council seat. Incumbent Beth Merwin will run unopposed to fill a vacated council seat for two years, until the term naturally expires at the end of 2016.

Zimmerman City Clerk and Treasurer Kary Tillmann said a write-in candidate may fill the other open seat, a four-year term. If there is not a write-in candidate who would accept the position, the city would fill the seat by declaring a vacancy and holding a special election early in 2015.

Comments Closed

©2014 Election Coverage