Brought to you by ECM Publishers, Inc.
Tell us                   what you think
New rules allow absentee voting to be done without reason. Have you voted absentee this year? Do you plan to? What do you think of this new option for voting?
Write us at editor.erstarnews@ecm-inc.com and let us know. — Jim Boyle, editor

As of midmorning Aug. 7, two people had filed affidavits of candidacy to run for Zimmerman mayor in the Nov. 4 election, with no filings yet for the three other open council seats.

Challenger Jan Nicodemus will run against incumbent Dave Earenfight for a two-year term as mayor. Councilmembers Tony Brisbin and Beth Merwin said at the beginning of the filing period that they are undecided about running. Councilmember Karen Michels agreed to fill a vacated seat until the end of 2014 and has said she will not run for office. The candidate filling her seat will serve until the end of 2016, when the term would have naturally expired. Council members are elected at large and normally serve a four-year term.

The candidacy filing period closes 5 p.m. Aug. 12 and is followed by a two-day period in which candidates can still withdraw from the race.

Comments Closed

©2014 Election Coverage