Elk River Area School Board filings to open May 20, close June 3

• Four seats up for vote, including northern and southern election districts

by Paul Rignell

Contributing Writer

The Elk River Area School District will open filings May 20 for four elected board seats that will be decided next November.

The filing period extends through 5 p.m. June 3.

School Board members whose seats are up for election include Jane Bunting, Jolene Jorgensen, Shane Steinbrecher and Tony Walter.

Walter shared with the Star News that he intends to file for re-election. Bunting and Steinbrecher both said they were undecided on filing as of May 14. Jorgensen could not be reached for comment before press time for this edition.

One seat (now held by Bunting) is open only to residents living in half of the district, including the city of Elk River’s 4th ward plus areas in Rogers, Ramsey, Dayton, Otsego, Albertville and St. Michael.

A second seat (now held by Steinbrecher) is open to residents living in Elk River’s 1st, 2nd and 3rd wards plus district areas in the cities of Zimmerman, Nowthen and St. Francis and also Baldwin, Big Lake, Livonia, Orrock and Stanford townships.

The two remaining seats are open to all eligible district residents.

Interested persons must acquire and file affidavits of candidacy with the district clerk in School District 728 offices at 815 Highway 10. Completed affidavits of candidacy are due with filing fees of $2.

A candidate must be an eligible voter and be minimum age 21 at the time he or she may take office next January. The candidate is required to be a district resident at least 30 days prior to the general election Nov. 4.

If three or more people file to run for the board seat representing the district’s northern half, or if three or more people file for the seat that represents the southern half, primary races will take place Aug. 12. A primary would be forced also if five or more people file for the two available at-large seats.