Wrestling: Royals beat 3 section rivals, Anderson becomes school wins leader

The Rogers Royals took on three section opponents and went 3-0 on Thursday evening at Spring Lake Park.

“As a team I don’t think we could have asked for a better night. The boys wrestled great,” said coach Chris Donnay.

The Royals (6-4) defeated Irondale 50-12, Mounds View 44-22 and Spring Lake Park 55-22.

Phillip Anderson, Bret Wilson, Jordan Bond, and Jordan Lemcke  were all 3-0 for the evening, while Connor Larson, Andrew Piehl, and Jake Owens all went 2-0 and were rested in the other meet.

Anderson, a senior, now has 119 career wins and passed Kyler Swanson’s school record of 117.

“Our big boys didn’t lose a match all night,” said Donnay. “They came up huge.”

Larson had a 3-1 win over Mounds View’s Jack O’Brien, who beat Larson in the section semifinals last season.

The Royals are back in action Friday evening against Fridley and Buffalo at Buffalo.

Rogers 50, Irondale 12
106—Bret Wilson, Rog, pin Jordan Kedrowski 1:20
113—Irondale won forfeit
120—Sean Lafluer, Iron, pin Jeremiah Racemacher 3:32
126—Jay Larson, Rog, pin Derek Ness :35
132—Cruz Martinez, Rog, won forfeit
138—Phillip Anderson, Rog, pin Justin Escobar 1:59
145—Irondale won forfeit
152—Jordan Bond, Rog, majdec Nick Harelson 15-1
160—Jake Spencer, Iron, won forfeit
170—Jeff McClay, Rog, won forfeit
182—Nathaniel Meyerdirk, Rog, won forfeit
195—Jordan Lemcke, Rog, majdec Connor Lauback 10-0
220—Irondale won forfeit
285—Dominic Skawiniak, Rog, pin Abe Dukuly 1:26

Rogers 44, Mounds View 22
106—Bret Wilson, Rog, pin Nick Dunagan 2:21
113—Seth McDougal, MV, won forfeit
120—Tanner Day, MV, pin Jeremiah Rademacher 2:32
126—Karl Keeler, MV, pin Jay Larson :34
132—Cruz Martinez, Rog, dec Sean McGinnity 5-1
138—Phillip Anderson, Rog, tecfal Benji Keillor 17-1
145—Connor Larson, Rog, dec Jack O’Brien 3-1
152—Jordan Bond, Rog, dec Louis Johnson 5-2
160—Sam Suedbeck, Rog, dec Andrew Bjorklund 5-1
170—Vincent Belisito, MV, majdec Jeff McClay 14-2
182—Tyler Eicher, Rog, pin Alec Edgett 1:07
195—Jordan Lemcke, Rog, dec Jimmy Kaiser 9-2
220—Jake Owens, Rog, pin Matt Ray 1:19
285—Andrew Piehl, Rog, pin Alex Keske 1:14

Rogers 55, Spring Lake Park 22
106—Bret Wilson, Rog, tecfal Riley Altenburg 15-0
113—Joey Nerdahl, SLP, won forfeit
120—Fabian Torres, SLP pin Jeremiah Rademacher 1:53
132—Cruz Martinez, Rog, majdec Desmond Johnson 14-2
138—Phillip Anderson, Rog, pin Samson Burque 1:48
145—Connor Larson, Rog, pin Tyrek Thomas 2:35
152—Jordan Bond, Rog, pin Schaffer Denno 4:28
160—Jackson Dahl, SLP, won forfeit
170—Jeff McClay, Rog, pin Josh Ivido 1:06
182—Nathaniel Meyerdirk, Rog, won forfeit
195—Zac Aanerud, Rog, won forfeit
220—Jake Owens, Rog, majdec Tristan Wehmas 10-1
285—Andrew Piehl, Rog, pin Joe Knoblauch 1:51