Wrestling: Royals win one, lose two at Buffalo tournament

The Rogers wrestlers, missing four regulars, beat Richfield/Edina 46-30, then lost to  Zumbrota-Mazeppa 60-6 and Bemidji 36-24 on Saturday at a Buffalo tournament.

“Philip Anderson, Sam Suedbeck, Jeremiah Rademacher, and Jeff McClay weren’t able to wrestle,” noted coach Chris Donnay. “It’s hard to replace those guys in the lineup.  We have three section opponents on Thursday so we figured it was more important to have those guys ready for then. We did get some of our younger guys varsity experience which will help us out later in the season … At least we came back and wrestled better in the third place match.”

Jake Owens at 220 was 3-0 with a pin and two decisions for Rogers.

The Royals (3-4) will duel Spring Lake Park, Irondale and Mounds View on Thursday at Spring Lake Park.


Rogers 46, Richfield/Edina 30

106—Brett Wilson, Rog, pin Sabastian Moore :22
113—Justin Swetala, RE, won forfeit
120—Walter Viera, RE, majdec Luke Anderson 12-0
126—Patrick Voight, RE, pin Jay Larson  3:05
132—Spencer Jarvey, RE, pin Jack Kammers Jack 3:41
138—Aaron Clifford, RE, dec Cruz Martinez  9-6
145—Connor Larson, Rog, majdec Christian Wellens 8-0

152—Jordan Bond, Rog, pin Brandon Mingo 2:57
160—Sam Suedbeck, Rog, won forfeit
170—Sam Benkowski, RE, tecfall Nathaniel Meyerdirk 18-3

182—Tyler Eicher, Rog, pin Alex Osborn  2:30
195—Wilson Brandon, Rog, won forfeit
220—Jake Owens, Rog, pin Michael Carlson 4:32
285—Andrew Piehl, Rog, pin Devan Hunt  1:37


Zumbrota-Mazeppa 60, Rogers 6

106—Hayden Stensland, ZM, dec Brett Wilson 9-2

113—Spencer Defrang, ZM, won forfeit
120—Maverick Jackson, ZM,  pin Luke Anderson 1:25

126—Joey Majerus, ZM, pin Jack Kammers  :30

132—Jacob Bennett, ZM, Jay Larson 1:03
138—Freedom Hunt, ZM, dec Cruz Martinez  9-4

145—Cody Heitman, ZM, dec Connor Larson 2-0

152—Caden Steffeg, ZM, Jordan Bond  3-0
160—Dillon Downes, ZM, won forfeit

170—Noah Prodzinski, ZM, pin Nathaniel Meyerdirk 1:32

182—Hunter Prodinski, ZM, pin Tyler Eicher 4:52
195—Jordan Lemcke, Rog, dec Seth Tupper  5-0
220—Jake Owens, Rog, Evan Block 5-0
285—Shane Bode, ZM, Andrew Piehl 4:22

Bemidji 36, Rogers 24

106—Bret Wilson, Rog, tecfall John Solen 15-9

113—Parker Beyer, Bem, won forfeit

120—Bryan Maas, Bem,  pin Luke Anderson 2:28

126—Tyler Maas, Bem, default over Jay Larson

132—Cruz Martinez, Roy, dec Tyler O’Bierne 7-2

138—Dylon Sauceda, Bem, dec Connor Larson 3-2, 3 OT

145—Alex O’Neal, Bem, won forfeit

152—Jordan Bond, Rog, dec Hunter Schoenborn 7-5, OT

170—Nick Peterson, Bem, dec Nathaniel Meyerdirk 10-5

182—Tyler Eicher, Rog, majdec Brody Wilander 11-2

195—Kade Johnson, Bem, pin Jordan Lemcke 2:57

220—Jake Owens, Rog, dec Wyatt Yeomans 3-0

285—Dominic Skawiniak, Rog, won forfeit