Swimming: Elk boys team previewed

Elk River swimming, boys

Coaches — Denise Green (30th year, head), Randy Doesken (22nd year, assistant), Bret Beecher (diving)
Last year — 3-2 conference, 5-3 overall
Captains — Brady Anderson (Elk River), Derek Jacobsen (Rogers), Nick Kopp (Spectrum)
Letter winners back — Anderson (sr), Jacobsen (sr), Kopp (jr), Christopher Thorndal, Andrew Bronshteyn (jr),  Andrew Weisgram (jr), Jake Kohorst (so), Spencer Hlavachek (so),  A.J. Eckblad (so), Owen Musgjerd (jr), Ben Kopp (fr), Coleman Maegi (fr), Christian Rieck (jr)
Coach says — “We are very young, only two seniors, and we have the largest team ever at 51 members. We have 21 new to the team, and 19 of these new to competitive swimming and diving. This will bring challenges, improvements and surprises as the season progresses. We are in a rebuilding year.”
Outlook — Bronshteyn, who placed fifth in the state in diving last year, and Hlavachek are the leaders. A large junior and sophomore contingent will step up behind them to try fill in the holes from graduation.

Co-op — This is a co-op with Rogers, Zimmerman and Spectrum