Spectrum fall sports awards, leaders listed

Team awards and leaders for Spectrum fall sports have been announced, including MVP honors for Ben Maki in football, Meghan Hayes in volleyball, and Kayla Zimmerman and Becca Peterson on the girls cross country team that placed eighth in the state.  quarterback Ben Maki was named MVP of the Spectrum football team while sophomore Shane Herrlin


Record — 2-6 overall
All-conference — not in a conference
Offensive awards — MVP: Ben Maki (jr QB) …  Skill player: Shane Herrlin (so RB) … Line: Niki Mayer (sr)
Defensive awards — MVP: Nash Gleason (jr LB-DE) … Linebacker: Mayer .. Defensive back: Ryan Pribnow (so) … Line: Dakota Woolhouse (jr T)
Other awards — Special teams: Esteban Teigen (so K) … Scout team: Ben Kopp (fr OL) and Nate Sommerstand (fr OL) … Newcomers: Spencer Maas (fr RB-LB) and Nick Anderson (fr DE)
All-section — Mayer, Gleason
Offensive leaders — Rushing (att-yrd-td): Herrlin 194-934-6, Maki 142-679-7, Maas 20-60-0 … Passing (cmp-att-yrd-td-int): Maki 17-58-275-3-8… Receiving (rec-yrd-td): Austin Kurilla 10-113-1, Josiah Bondy 15-97-2, Pribnow 2-20-0, Martin Mayer 1-28-0, Erik Hansen 2-17-0 … Points: Maki 46, Herrlin 40
Defensive leaders — Tackles (solo-ast-ttl): Gleason 48-27-65, Stefan Meyer 41-19-60, Maki 45-11-56, Maas 23-8-31 .. Sacks: Gleason 2 … Interceptions: Bondy 1, Make 1 … Fumble recoveries: Anderson 2 … Punting (att-avg): Maas 27-25.7 … Kickoffs: Teigen 25-30.4


Record — 4th in conference, 12th in section, 35-62 record
All-conference — Zack Anderson (8th)
Team awards — MVP: Nate Hackbarth (so) …  Hardest worker: Ben Harvey …. Team spirit: Connor Sharp … Most improved: Alex Starica … Perseverance: Josh Hoehn … Top rookie: Nevin Sagstetter … Top runner: Anderson
Worth noting — Anderson is school’s first boy state qualifier … Top five on section lineup had 3.89 composite GPA


Record  — 2nd in conference, 2nd in section, 8th in state, 84-13 record
All-conference — Kayla Zimmerman (sr), Becca Peterson (sr), Brittany Waterhouse (jr), Marissa Kuik (so), Elizabeth Hackbarth (8th)
Team awards — MVP: Zimmerman, Peterson … Top runner: Hackbarth … Hardest worker: Waterhouse … Team spirit: Noelle Diekman … Most improved: Lindsay McLaughlin … Perseverance: Haley Cornelius … Top rookie: Maria Novotny (7th)
Worth noting — Zimmerman 37th at state, a team record … Top five in section lineup had composite 3.99 GPA


Record — 8-12
All-conference — Not in a conference
Team awards — MVP: Meghan Hays (jr MH) … Most improved: Ali Henkemeyer (jr OH)… Spirit award: Kira Lorensen
Team leaders — Kills: Meghan Hays 88, Molly Mitchell 80… Blocks: Hays 23… Digs: Sadie Ehr 115 … Assists: Ellie Rogers 159 … Aces: Rachel Neiss 73, Rogers 61, Maddie Hays 51, Jasmine Nelson 47, Meghan Hays 41 … Serve receptions: Ehr 234


Record — 2-13-1
All-conference — Not in a conference
Team awards — Offense: Taylor Benson (so) … Defense: Laura Palmquist (jr) … Most improved: Anna Brown (8th)
Next year’s captains — Palmquist, Jess Kraus