Rogers’ Nick Jensen named to All-America hockey team

Nick Jensen, St. Cloud State junior defenseman from Rogers, was named to the CCM Hockey All-America team on Friday night.

Jensen and senior forward Drew LeBanc were among 12 players named as first-team picks. Another 15 were second-team picks.

Nick Jensen is shown here during the Huskies' 4-1 loss to Quinnipiac in the Frozen Four semifinals. (St. Cloud State photo)
Nick Jensen is shown here during the Huskies’ 4-1 loss to Quinnipiac in the Frozen Four semifinals. (St. Cloud State photo)

LaBlanc, of Hermantown, was named Hobey Baker Award winner as the nation’s top player.

The Huskies advanced to the Frozen Four for the first time, and lost to Quinnipiac of Connecticut 4-1 in the semifinals on Thursday evening. Quinnipiac will meet Yale in the finals Saturday in Pittsburgh.

Jensen, previously named WCHA Defense Player of the Year,  charted four goals and 27 assists.  He is a two-time All-WCHA pick and WCHA Scholar-Athlete.

Jensen played for Rogers in grades  9-10-11, then two years with Green Bay in the USHL before joining the Huskies. He is a draftee of the Detroit Red Wings.

The awards were announced at the Frozen Four in Pittsburgh, Pa. at the CONSOL Energy Center.

LeBlanc and Jensen were named West First Team All-Americans, marking the first time SCSU has have two D-I picks.

(Sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association).

West – First
G – Brady Hjelle, SR, Ohio State (International Falls, MN)
D – Nick Jensen, JR, St. Cloud State (Rogers, MN)
D – Jacob Trouba, FR, Michigan (Rochester, MI)
F – Austin Czarnik, SO, Miami of Ohio (Washington, MI)
F – Danny Kristo, SR, North Dakota (Eden Prairie, MN)
F – Drew LeBlanc, SR, St. Cloud State, (Hermantown, MN)

East – First
G – Eric Hartzell, SR, Quinnipiac (White Bear Lake, MN)
?D – Nick Bailen, SR, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (Fredonia, NY)
D – Chad Ruhwedel, JR, UMass Lowell (San Diego, CA)
D – Trevor van Riemsdyk, SO, New Hampshire (Middletown, NJ)
F – Kyle Flanagan, SR, St. Lawrence (Canton, NY)
F – Johnny Gaudreau, SO, Boston College (Carneys Point, NJ)
F – Steven Whitney, SR, Boston College (Reading, MA)

East – Second
G – Jon Gillies, FR, Providence (South Portland, ME)
D – Shayne Gostisbehere, SO, Union  (Margate, FL)
D – George Hughes, SR, St. Lawrence   (Westwood, MA)
F – Greg Carey, JR, St. Lawrence   (Hamilton, ON)
F – Mike Collins, JR, Merrimack  (Boston, MA)
F – Andrew Miller, SR, Yale  (Bloomfield Hills, MI)

West – Second
G- Juho Olkinuora, SO, Denver (Helsinki, Finland)
D- Dan DeKeyser, JR, Western Michigan (Clay Township, MI)
D- Nate Schmidt, JR, Minnesota (St. Cloud, MN)
F- Corban Knight, SR, North Dakota (High River, AB)
?F- Anders Lee, JR, Notre Dame (Edina, MN)
?F- Ryan Walters, JR, Nebraska-Omaha (Rosemount, MN)