Wrestling: Thunder have one champ, two seconds at Mora tourney

The Zimmerman wrestlers had one champion, Mitch Robinson, and two runners-up, and placed sixth among 10 teams at the Mora Invitational on Saturday.

Robinson (10-0) had three first-period pins 195, including one against Justi Lehtola  of Annandale in 1:45 in the finals.

Hunter Smith (8-3) placed second at 132 pounds, losing to Waconia’s Jacob Steinbauer 4-2 in the finals. He advanced with an 11-1 decision and a pin.

Austin May (9-3) laced second at 170 pounds, losing to Mora’s Codie LeFromboise by pin (36 seconds) in the finals. He advanced with a pin and 9-4 win.

Trentin Milless (10-5) placed fourth at 126 with a 2-2 record, Tristan Pettit (7-6) placed fifth at 138 with a 3-2 record, Ben Jensen (5-5) placed fifth at 285 with a 2-2 record and two pins, and Kolton Wahl (2-8) placed sixth at 152 with a 1-3 record.

St. Francis was champion with 180.5 points followed by Mora 175.5, Waconia 16.8, Annandale-Maple Lake 166.5, Aitkin 155.5, Zimmerman 107, St. Cloud Tech 101, Rush City-Braham 83.5, Albany 61, and Spectrum 54.
Zimmerman will wrestle at Milaca on Thursday.