Gumphrey, Zerwas recognized by EDA

Outgoing Elk River Council Members Jerry Gumphrey and Nick Zerwas were recognized at the Monday, Dec. 10, meeting of the Elk River Economic Development Authority (EDA). It was the last EDA meeting for both of them.

The EDA passed resolutions acknowledging their contributions.

“I think it’s really important that we recognize people who spend time and dedicate parts of their lives to help the community,” said EDA President Dan Tveite.

The seven-member EDA includes four council members — Gumphrey, Zerwas, Matt Westgaard and Paul Motin — and three non-council members — Tveite, Pat Dwyer and Bryan Provo.

Gumphrey didn’t seek re-election after eight years on the city council; Zerwas was elected to the Minnesota House of Representatives after six years on the city council.