FitzSimmons elected to House District 30B

Republicans from Otsego and other areas of eastern Wright County are sending a new face to the Minnesota House of Representatives next January in David FitzSimmons of Albertville, based on unofficial voting totals Nov. 6.

David FitzSimmons

With all precincts counted in House District 30B, results showed FitzSimmons leading Democratic challenger Sharon Shimek, of Otsego, with more than 61 percent of the vote.

House 30B also includes St. Michael, Hanover and one precinct of Dayton. State redistricting earlier this year left these communities without an incumbent in the House to enter 2013.