3 seats open on the Elk River Area School Board

Six citizens, including three incumbents, are running for three at-large seats on the Elk River Area School Board in the Nov. 6 election.

The incumbents are Sue Farber of Elk River, Janelle Henry of Albertville and Holly Thompson of Zimmerman.

Farber was first elected to the School Board in 2004; she was re-elected in 2008. Henry served on the School Board from 2002 to 2006 and was  again elected in 2008. Thompson is completing her first term.

The three others to file are Jane Frazier of Rogers, Dan Hunt of Rogers and Tom McAuley of Elk River.

Frazier ran for the School Board in 2010; this is the first time  Hunt and McAuley have run for School Board.

As the filings did not reach one more than twice the number of seats available, there was not a primary for any of the open seats.

The School Board  is composed of seven members elected to alternating four-year terms. Elections are held every two years.