Bunting, Ivey, Jakel, Hall, McConnach and Swanson advance in Rogers

by Jim Boyle


Jay Bunting and Bob Ivey will challenge each other in the Rogers mayoral race this November after Tuesday’s primary election.

The four council candidates to advance in Tuesday’s election are Darren Jakel, Don Hall, Garrett McConnach and Steve Swanson.

Bunting got 491 votes or 53.2 percent of the vote, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website, while Ivey got 303 votes or 32.83 percent. Megan Reilly and James “Sark” Sarkilahti were eliminated from contention.  Reilly had 12.35 percent of the vote and Sarkilahti had 1.63 percent.

Jakel had the most votes with 303 or 19.21 percent. Hall (282 votes) and McConnach 276 each had between 17 and 18 percent of the vote. Steve Swanson (157 votes) had nearly 10 percent.

Dick Martin (100 votes) Rob Bell (152 votes), Bill Boettner (130 votes), Dave Braesch (38 votes), Roger Allen Brown (23 votes) and Michael Iwano (116 votes) were eliminated.