Salk’s National Honor Society publishes cookbook

by Jim Boyle

The good works of the National Junior Honor Society have a new ingredient to success.

It’s a cookbook that’s aptly named “History in the Baking.”

It’s the first Salk cookbook with recipes submitted by students as well as staff, and the first one published by a first-class publishing company in Morris Press Cookbooks.

There are 182 recipes in all and they range from the decadent in dark chocolate-amaretto cake by Bonnie and Kayla Olson to the exotic in Thai lettuce wraps by Amber Anderson. There’s even sublime in the case of Mountain Dew Apple Dumplings by Greg Kriefall.

The book is broken into  eight categories, including appetizers and beverages, soups and salads, vegetables and side dishes, main dishes, breads and rolls, desserts and cookies and candies. An index breaks them down by the contributor, too, so if you want to try something from your favorite teacher or one of your relative’s classmates, you can.

Salk has compiled cookbooks in the past, but they were always put together by staff and without the help of a publishing company.

“This is our first honest to goodness cookbook we’ve published with the help of the whole school,” said Tom Stoll, the National Junior Honor Society adviser who oversaw the project. The cookbook costs $10 and they will be sold at Coborn’s in Elk River and in the school office in the fall when school resumes. They can also be ordered by emailing thomas.s[email protected]

Proceeds will go toward a number of causes that NJHS champions locally and worldwide. That includes the KS95 for Kids Radiothon to benefit Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare and Children’s Cancer Research Fund.

The title of this year’s cookbook was created by Molly Heinen, a sixth-grade Salk student who won a cookbook naming contest.

The cookbook is dedicated to all the students and staff that Salk has ever had, Stoll said.

Salk started as a junior high about three decades ago and later became a middle school. The school has become a magnet and specializes in science, technology, engineering and math.

National Junior Honor Society stresses scholarship, leadership, character and service. Students are accepted based upon not only academic performance, but also a demonstration of service and leadership in their communities.

Current officers at the time of the book’s printing were:

Timothy Wilder, president; Jade Friese, vice president, Abi Scheid, treasurer; and Skai Bekeris, secretary.

Members included Marit Adams, Kelsey Carroll, Myah Christenson, Sophia Davitt, Jessica Dexheimer, Sadie Elsenpeter, Julia Hallman, Sydney Heinen, Elisabeth King, Erica Kolstad, Micheala Martin, Allyson Nelson, Kayla Olsen, Jessa Sailor, Jennifer Staffenhagen, Colin Webster, Mariah Beaudry, Brooke Burns, Katie Crocker, Brandon DeValk, Kristina Foggia, Jacob Griffiths, Avery Heinen, Connor Johnson, Jennifer Koehler, Emma Leither, Jenna Nielsen, Emily Novotny, Alex Pribula, Chelsea Turner and Hluechy Vang.