Updated: Election filings so for in the greater Elk River area

Filings for many area offices close Tuesday, June 5.

Tuesday, June 5, is the deadline to file for many area offices. Filing is the process by which a candidate’s name gets placed on the ballot.

Here are the election filings so far in the Elk River area.

Westgaard files for re-election to Elk River City Council; race develops in Ward 3

Two candidates have filed for Ward 3 of the Elk River City Council.

They are: Chad Wurm, 824 Jackson Ave., and Ryan Holmgren, 363 Gates Ave.

The filing period opened May 22.

Elk River City Council Member Matt Westgaard has filed for re-election. He will be running in Ward 2.

Elk River may conduct a primary if more than two candidates apply for an open seat. The primary will be held on Tuesday, August 14, 2012. The top two finishers will advance to the General Election in November.

The filing period closes at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, June 5.

Council Member Jerry Gumphrey is not running for re-election.

Darkenwald runs for Wright County Board

Two people have filed for the Wright County commissioner seat representing District 3, which includes the Otsego area, as of Friday morning.

The candidates are Mark Daleiden of St. Michael and Tom Darkenwald of Otsego.

Two people have filed for School Board

As of Friday afternoon, Janelle Henry and  Tom McAuley were the only two people to have filed for three open seats on the Elk River Area School Board.

The period for filing affidavits for the four-year terms closes at 5 p.m. Tuesday, June 5.  The election is scheduled for Nov. 6.

Sue Farber, Holly Thompson and Henry are currently seated in the positions up for election.

The affidavits of candidacy are available at the School District Office, 815 Highway 10, Elk River. The filing fee is $2. For more information, call Londa Chambers at 241-3418.

Kowalski challenges Leonard in county race 

Four incumbents and one challenger have filed so far for four seats on the Sherburne County Board.

Commissioner Rachel Leonard is being challenged by Wendy Kowalski in District 5.

Commissioner Felix  Schmiesing has filed in District 4, Commissioner Larry Farber in District 1 and Commissioner John Riebel in District 3.

Bunting runs for Rogers mayor, five file for council

Rogers City Council Member Jay Bunting has filed for mayor, and five people have filed for the Rogers City Council as of Friday morning.

The five council candidates are Don Hall, Michael Iwanok, Darren Jakel, Dick Martin and Steve Swanson.

Any eligible voter in the City of Rogers may file as a candidate for the following positions in the upcoming Primary Election.

Up for election are Mayor Jason Grimm (two-year term) and council members Jay Bunting and Rob Bell (four-year terms).

All candidates should file at the City Clerk’s office located at 22350 S. Diamond Lake Road, Rogers.

Filings open at 8 a.m. Tuesday, May 22, and will close at 5 p.m. Tuesday, June 5. Filing fee is $2.