Tennis: Elks (11-0) trip Red Wing, Mahtomedi and Eden Prairie, now face powerhouse Wayzata

The unbeaten Elk River tennis team beat a pair of section favorites on the way to capturing the championship of the Eagan Invitational on Saturday.

The Elks (11-0) beat Red Wing 7-0, Mahtomedi 4-0 in a rain-shortened match, and Eagan 5-2 indoors at Lifetime Fitness in Lakeville.

Along with the team trophy, individual medals were nabbed by Josh Gearou, Ryan Ness, Josh Chuba at 2-3-4 singles, and Mitchel Brandell-Matt Odegard at 1-doubles and Dylan Berger-Jesse Bragg at 2-doubles.

Elk coach Randy Ronning noted that Mahtomedi and Eagan are both  favorites in their section.

“Mahtomedi beat the Elks in the state tournament the past two years, so it was enjoyable to exact some level of revenge,” he added.

In that rain-shortened match, the Elks appeared headed for a 7-0 win as Chuba at 4S and Chanthamontry-Burns at 3D won the first set and Ness at 3S would have faced an opponent he beat 6-0, 6-0 at state last year.

Eagan beat the Elks in third-set tiebreakers at 1S and 3D and the Elks won the rest in straight sets.

The Elks will host last year’s state runner-up, Wayzata, on Monday.


Elk River 7, Red Wing 0


(1) Josh Gearou, ER, def Isaac Toivonen 6-3, 6-1

(2) Sam Gearou, ER, def George Gabrielson 6-2, 6-0

(3) Ryan Ness, ER, def Alex Holm 6-3, 6-0

(4) Josh Chuba, ER, def Noah Christenson 6-3, 7-5


(1) Mitchel Brandell-Matt Odgard, ER, def Luke Betant-Nick Powers 6-0, 6-0

(2) Dylan Berger-Jesse Bragg, ER, def Steffen Bettich-Elliot Dietz 6-2, 6-4

(3) Nathan Chanthamontry-Logann Burns, ER, def Marcus Veith-Travis Toivonen 6-2, 6-1


Elk River 4, Mahtomedi 0


(1) Josh Gearou, ER, def Kishore Damadoran 6-0, 6-1

(2) Sam Gearou, ER, def Ty Young 6-2 6-1


(1) Mitchel Brandell-Matt Odgard, ER, def Hardt Bergman-Teddie Bowie 6-0, 6-1

(2) Dylan Berger-Jesse Bragg, ER, def Zach Plootier-Cooper Schweiters 6-3, 3-6, 10-7


Elk River 5, Eagan 2


(1) Zack Ekstein, Eag, def Sam Gearou 6-1, 3-7, 12-10

(2) Josh Gearou, ER, def Brady Rachermacher 6-1, 6-2

(3) Ryan Ness, ER def Drew Nichols 6-4, 6-3

(4) Josh Chuba, ER, def Simon Barnicle 7-5, 6-3


(1) Mitchel Brandell-Matt Odgard, ER, def Ben Ekstein-Brandon Vuong 6-1, 6-1

(2) Dylan Berger-Jesse Bragg, ER, def Andrew Finnegan-Dylan Manneater 7-4, 7-5

(3) Ryan Ossell-Drew Lockhart, Eag, def Nathan Chanthamontry-Steve Delain 6-4, 2-6, 10-7

Comments Closed

up arrow
Don't Miss A Thing!

Our news stories are now available through email. Simply enter your email address below and click “Subscribe” to see the new stories every day.