Four finalists named for Tenth Judicial District judgeships

Four candidates, including an assistant Sherburne County attorney, have been selected as finalists for two judicial vacancies.

The Commission on Judicial Selection announced Thursday that it is recommending the four candidates to Gov. Mark Dayton for consideration to fill vacancies in Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District. Tenth District Judges Karla Hancock and Timothy Bloomquist retired, leaving vacancies for the judgeships chambered at Elk River in Sherburne County and at Mora in Kanabec County respectively.

The candidates are:

•Suzanne Bollman: She currently serves as an assistant Sherburne County attorney where she is responsible for criminal prosecution, reviewing search warrants, advising law enforcement on related issues and law enforcement training. Previously, she was an assistant Stearns County attorney, an assistant Benton County attorney and an assistant city attorney for the city of Saint Cloud. Bollman was involved with the Supreme Court’s Gender Fairness Implementation Committee. She was also a member of the city of Ramsey’s Public Safety Board and is a union negotiator and steward for AFSCME.

•Sheridan Hawley: She maintains a solo law practice where she represents clients in child protection and family law matters in district and appellate courts. She also provides alternative dispute resolution in juvenile, civil and family cases. Prior to this, Hawley was an attorney with Walling, Berg and Debele, and she also provided contract services to the Tenth District Public Defender’s Office. She is a member of the Lawyer’s Professional Responsibility Board and is secretary of the Board of Mediation Services for Anoka County.

•Stoney Hiljus: He serves as the Coon Rapids city attorney where he represents, counsels and advises the city council and appointed officials. He previously served as city administrator and city council member to the city of Cambridge. Hiljus has also previously served as the chief deputy Isanti County attorney and as the director of legal services for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe. He has been an adjunct professor at Anoka Ramsey Community College and a member of Cambridge-Isanti School District No.911’s Character Education Task Force.

•Matthew Quinn: He serves as the chief deputy county attorney for Stearns County where he supervises three attorney divisions and two support divisions. Previously, he served as the first assistant Mille Lacs County attorney and was an associate attorney with Barna, Guzy and Steffen, Ltd. As a member of the Stearns County Felony Domestic Violence Partnership, he leads the law enforcement training commission and the victim services focus group. Quinn is a youth coach with the Lions Club of Santiago and supports the Princeton airport as a volunteer with the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association Airport Support Network.

The Tenth Judicial District consists of Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties.

An announcement of the appointment will be made following an interview process over the next few weeks.