Music for a good cause: ERHS students entertain for Muscular Dystrophy Association at ‘SnowStorm’

Alexandra McDonald sings "So Long," accompanied by Sam Olson. McDonald was also co-host with Tom Eichten as DECA's royalty nominees, and they were named co-king and queen. (Photo by Bruce Strand)


by Bruce Strand, Arts editor

“SnowStorm,” the annual Elk River High School winter talent show, was a big draw on Wednesday evening, packing the 800-seat Zabee Theatre.

The 10th annual DECA-sponsored event, which raises money for Muscular Dystrophy Association, featured 17 student acts, and the introduction of Snow Week royalty nominees from 23 school clubs.

Lead singer for the trio "Void in Reality" belts out "Want To." (Photo by Bruce Strand)

DECA, headed by advisor Sonja Weiler, promoted the show vigorously on Facebook, the newspaper, flyers, and school announcements, and drew the biggest crowd ever.

Andreas Wedell-Neergaard sings "Good Riddance" (Photo by Bruce Strand)

“We made almost double with the Miracle Minute than we have before,” reported Alexa Dieterich, DECA student director of the event, referring to a 60-second collection of donations, which reaped $1,225, according to DECA’s Facebook page. That was on top of $6 per ticket sold.

MC’s were Alexa McDonald and Tom Eichten, the Snow Week royalty nominees for DECA. They also tied for Snow Week King and Queen with National Honor Society nominees Dylan Berger and Amy Honek. The royalty is picked by a points system based on service to the cause of raising money for MDA.

The show featured a cheery address from Grant Akre, 18, who has muscular dystrophy. He explained the kind of benefits MDA gets from fundraisers like this, such as Camp Courage trips and wheelchairs, and expressed his gratitude.

Grant Akre spoke on behalf of Muscular Dystrophy Association, introduced by Tom Eichten. (Photo by Bruce Strand)

The entertainers were as follows:

Danny Petters and SnowStorm staff singing “I Just Can’t Wait to be King.”

Andreas Wedell-Neergaard, guitar and singing “Good Riddance.”

Nick Griffiths, Derek Cross, and Michael T. Band playing “Rock You Like a Hurricane.”

Morgan Shryock and Ali Krohn singing “Beautiful.”

Cameron McDonald guitar and singing “You be the Anchor.”

Void in Reality (band) playing “Want To.”

Cassie Reimann dancing to burlesque.

Abby Eilertson (vocal) and Ana Ibanez (guitar) singing “Fifteen”

Kristen Rokke, piano and singing “Us.”

Alexandra McDonald (vocal) and Paul Olson (guitar) singing “So Long.”


Amy Honek and Dylan Berger, representing National Honor Society, were named co-king and queen. (Photo by Bruce Strand)

Moriah Babneau (vocal) and Chandra Walbot (guitar) singing “Everybody”

Malea Bertsch, piano and singing “Hallelujah”

Gracy Heyne, Laurel Topper, Megan Perry, guitar and singing “Little Bird.”

Al Miller and Carly Hagstrom, guitar and singing “Paperweight.”

Intrepic (band) playing “Iris”

Ana Ibanez and Chandra Walbot, piano duet and singing “If I Ain’t Got You.”

Sherbounce, dance trio performing “Racing.”


Moriah Babneau sings a stylized version of "Everybody" with Chandra Walbot (right) on guitar. (Photo by Bruce Strand)