Wrestling: Rogers gets on a roll, beats Buffalo 48-27

by Bruce Strand, Sports editor

The Rogers wrestlers pummeled Buffalo 48-27 on Thursday evening, squaring their record at 6-6 and greatly impressing their coach.

“The boys wrestled great tonight from top to bottom – we wrestled a complete match,” said Chris Donnay. “Anytime you get a win in a stacked Mississippi 8 conference it’s a big deal.  All of the kids are taking some big steps forward right now.  We’re not where we want to be yet but we’re getting there.”

The Royals are 1-2 in the Mississippi 8.

Kyle Ysteboe pinned his man at 113 to tie the score 6-6 after an opening forfeit. Connor Larson won 5-2 over a state entrant from last year at 120.

“Then Phil did what he’s been doing all year, getting pins when we need them,” said the coach about Phil Anderson, who got a 42-second pin at 126.

Tim Beach took on one of Buffalo’s better wrestlers and got a headlock on him for a 1:36 pin at 132.

Paige Steffen, filling in for Kyler Swanson, who was out with an injury, made it three pins in a row, at 138, for a 24-6 lead.

Buffalo then got a pin, decision and forfeit before Jacob Owens got a pin at 170 for a 30-21 lead.

“Owen has come a long way, and getting a pin for us was huge,” said Donnay.

Clay LeVasseur at 220 got the clincher, 11-6  over Adam Treptau. “Clay had his first real test of the year, against a kid who has been rated most of the year, and won pretty handily,” said the coach.

The Royals will take on Zimmerman and Becker next Thursday at Becker.

Rogers 48, Buffalo 27

103–Josh Skarin, Buf, forfeit
113–Kyle Ysteboe, Rog, pin Wyatt Jacobson-Hanson 3:33
120–Connor Larson, Rog, dec Cedric Jimenez 5-0
126–Phillip Anderson, Rog, pin Wesley Sanderson :42
132–Tim Beach, Rog, pin Andrew Mock 1:36
138–Paige Steffen, Rog, pin Levi Peterson 1:06
145–Walker Rask, Buf, pin Michael Voorhees 1:16
152–Hunter Durand, Buf, dec Tyler Eicher 5-4
160–Tanner Maus, Buf, forfeit
170–Jacob Owens, Rog, pin Lance Berg 3:29
182–Jason Forphal, Buf, pin Jordan Lemcke 4:29
195–Ryan Lien, Rog, forfeit
220–Clay LeVasseur, Rog, dec Adam Treptau 11-5
285–Peder Oakland, Rog, forfeit