Zimmerman fall sports honors, leaders listed

Following are wrapups including conference and team honors and statistical leaders for Zimmerman’s cross country, football, soccer and volleyball teams.


Team record –boys 6th in conference, 16th in section; girls incomplete in conference and section

All-conference — Nikki Jurik (freshman)

Team awards — Points leaders: Travis Carr (soph), Gabby Kiesliszewski (soph) … Most  improved: Kale Cowles (junior, improved by 4:55) and Jurik (improved by 1:54) … Runners’ Runner: Meghan Tillman (junior)


Zimmerman collected several conference honors after snagging the Granite Ridge championship. Jake Antolak, senior lineman, was co-MVP with Foley’s Tyler Lewandowsky. Ethan Lunning got the top quarterback award and Mitch Robinson was cited as best defensive lineman. Tom Kish was coach of the year and Zach Eldelbes assistant coach of the year. Antolak led the Thunder with 92 tackles and 19.5 tackles per loss including 5.5 sacks. Lunning passed for 1,174 yards and 14 touchdowns and led with 567 yards rushing and six touchdowns. His 319 career tackles at linebacker is the school record and Antolak’s 200 is second.

Team record – 6-0 conference, 9-2 overall

All-conference – seniors Ethan Lunning  (QB-LB ), Jake Antolak (OL-DL), Caleb Lunning (RB-DB), Luke Schmit (WR-LB); juniors Jeremy Sloneker (OL-LB), Mitch Robinson (LB) …. Honorable mention: seniors Brandon Smith (RB-DB), Evan Bye (RB-DB); juniors Collin Ashley (RB-DB), Cory Jopp (OL-DL), Jeff Mueller (LB-RB); soph Noah Lunning (RB-DB)

All-section – E.Lunning, C.Lunning, Antolak, Schmit, junior Jake Wilson (WR)

Conference awards — MVP: Antolak (with Foley’s Taylor Lewandowsk) … Quarterback: E. Lunning … Defensive lineman: Robinson .. Coach: Tom Kish … Assistant coach: Zach Eidelbes

Team awards – MVP offense: E. Lunning … MVP defense: Antolak … Spirit award: Smith, Schmit …. Most improved: Mueller

Offensive leaders – Passing: E. Lunning 61 for 148, 1174 yards, 14 TD, 9 int … Rushing (att-yards-td): E. Lunning 105-567-6; C. Lunning 74-400-6; Smith 60-306-0; Ashley 58-263-3; Cam Korlath 39-185-1 … Receiving (rec-yards-td): Schmit 16-417-5, C. Lunning 17-330-5, Ashley 12-298-3, Wilson 8-130-2

Defensive leaders – Tackles (solo-assist-total): Antolak 66-28-92, Mueller 43-38-81, Robinson 44-30-74, E. Lunning 40-26-66, C. Lunning 45-15-60, Schmit 26-34-60 Smith 40-17-57, Bye 35-15-50 …. Sacks: Robinson 11.5, Sloneker 7.5, Antolak 5.5 … Other tackles-for-loss: Antolak 14, Robinson 11, E. Lunning 6 … Interceptions: C. Lunning 7, E. Lunning 2 …. Forced fumbles:  E. Lunning 3 … Fumble recoveries: Tyler Theisen 2, Korlath 2, E. Lunning 2 … Passes broken up: N. Lunning 8, E. Lunning 5

Team record set — E. Lunning 319 career tackles



Freshman Brooke Salo was MVP in a  players’ vote. The Thunder (2-14-1) had 14 playrers score. Previous record was seven players scoriing.

Team record – 0-6 conference, 2-14-1 overall

All-conference – Emily Timinski (sr med), Brooke Salo (fr mid)  … Honorable mention: Tara Bakken (sr mid), Kendra Kraebel sr def), Flor Margaria (sr mid)

Team awards – MVP: Salo … Most improved: Abby Canton … Golden Boot: Allison Giese … Defender: Margaria … Midfielder: Salo … Thunder award: Gwen Bauer, Laura Hengel … Coaches award: Samantha Karnes



Nikki O’Keefe, Brooke Borchardt and Emily Garmen got the top honors for Thunder volleyball and each set team records.

Team record – 3-6 conference, 12-15 overall

All-conference –  Nikki O’Keefe (jr OH) … Honorable mention: Emily Garmen (sr lib), Brooke Borchardt (so MH)

Team awards – Best offense: O’Keefe, Borchardt … Best defense: Garmen … Most improved: Cassie Ortberg (jr RSH) … Thunder award: Jenae Mettling (sr OH)

Academic all-state – Garmen, Abby Kratzke (sr D)

Season leaders – Kills: Borchardt 260, O’Keefe 251 … Digs: Garmen 326 (team record) … Blocks: Borchardt 97 (team record) …. Assists: Amanda Meleen 543 … Serving percentage:  Mettling .936 … Aces: O’Keefe 38

Career records – O’Keefe 583 digs, Borchardt 179 blocks