Football: Elks will return to NWSC next year

Elk River will return to the Northwest Suburban Conference for football next year, after  spending 2010 and 2011 in the Mississippi 8 Conference.

The NWSC will also add Totino-Grace for football only, and will split into two divisions of six teams each, divided by enrollment.

The North Division will include the six biggest schools –  Champlin Park (currene enrollment listed at 2571),  Blaine (2551), Anoka (2157), Maple Grove (2142), Coon Rapids (2120), and Centennial (2017)

The West Division will include Osseo (1823), Armstrong (1789), Andover (1614), Elk River (1570), Park Center (1471), and Totino Grace (802).

All will be Class 6A schools except Elk River, Andover and Totino-Grace, which will be 5A, and Park Center, which will  be 4A.

The five games in your own division will be conference games, and three games against the other division will be non-conference.

Elk River, after struggling for several years in the NWSC, left to join the Mississippi 8 on a two-year trial basis. The Elks were 0-9 last year but have come back this fall with a 5-1 record so far.