Foundation set to honor Lee, Poate, Kerr, Chuba and Dorvinen

Five prominent past and present community leaders will be honored at the fourth annual Three Rivers Community Foundation (TRCF) Gala at 5:30 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 27. The gala will be held at The Crown Room Banquet Center at the Wellstead of Rogers, 20500 S Diamond Lake Rd., Rogers.

Liinda Lee

This year’s recipients are TRCF founding president Linda Lee (Lifetime Achievement) and Hall of Fame recipients Dennis Chuba of Elk River, Mike Dorvinen of Otsego,  Kathleen Poate of Rogers and the late Laurie Kerr of Zimmerman.

Lee was instrumental in developing the TRCF.  She was the first chairperson in 1989 and was re-elected for the following two years.  She also served as treasurer for two years.  Lee is credited by many for ensuring the TRCF became a reality.

Chuba, founder of the Chuba Companies, was selected for his leadership in the building industry, the Elk River Area Chamber of Commerce, local service clubs and Elk River Community Theatre.  He serves on the Elk River Energy City Commission, the Elk River Arts Alliance, chairs the Elk River Community Theatre and has served as president of the Elk River Lions Club and the Chamber of Commerce.  Chuba was president of the local Builders Association in 1991, of the Builders Association of Minnesota in 1996 and was a member of the Board of Directors and national representative of the National Association of Home Builders in 1993.

Denny Chuba

Dorvinen is being honored for his leadership in scouting and in community activities.  He recently was named the 2011 Cubmaster of the Year in his district. He involves the scouts in Otsego park and recreation events and in special community celebrations such as pumpkin, Santa and Easter events.

MIke Dorvinen

Poate is being honored for her leadership in many community activities, particularly the Rogers/I-94 Chamber of Commerce which she led as president since 1990.  Poate has leadership roles in the Rogers Rotary Club, the Lions, R.O.A.D.S. Scholarship, Rivers of Hope and the Rogers Elementary Vehicle Fair.  As a school board member, she spearheaded the building of the new Rogers High School of which she is a major supporter.

Kathleen Poate

Kerr was a member of the school board for seven years and was an advocate for improving the quality of schools in Zimmerman. She served as chair and as a member of the Boys and Girls Club.  For 10 years, she was a member of the Connexus Energy Board of Directors, and she was the Livonia Township clerk.  Her friends have created the Laurie Kerr Foundation in her honor.

Laurie Kerr

The public is invited to the gala.  Social hour begins at 5:30 p.m. with dinner served at 6:15 p.m.  Tickets are $50; reservations can be made at [email protected] with checks made out before Oct. 15 to the TRCF, Box 558, Elk River, Minn. 55330.

Table sponsorships are also available. For more information call Jim Babcock at 763-441-7220.