Mikols takes the reins

by Jim Boyle
Tony Mikols has become the president of the Elk River Lions.

Lion Nick Zerwas walked away with the club’s top honor, a Melvin Jones Fellow, which is the highest award given by Lions Club International.

Scott Trenholm was named Lion of the Year.

Lion Nick Zerwas receives a Melvin Jones Fellow Award from past governor, Kevin Schuldt.

The club has one remaining charter member, Don McRae, who celebrated his 40th year as a Lion with 40 years of perfect attendance.

Mikols took over the gavel from Neil Anderson last month at the group’s annual awards banquet.

Other club officers for the year are Trenholm, Deb Weston, Kevin Beadles, Jim Mulroy, Jim Swanson, Stan Swen and John Weicht. Board directors are Jim Newville, Eliz Dziuk, Carol Lager and Win Causby.

The club is 44 members strong, up five members from last year. It took on a new project last year called Soles for Souls, for which the group collects used shoes for distribution to those less fortunate. Among the recipients of the shoes are typically victims of tornado, fire, tsunami or bad luck. The Soles for Shoes organization distributes the shoes worldwide.

Several awards were given out at the banquet. They include:
•Lion Dave Karpinske received a president’s appreciation medal.
•Lions Deb Weston, Bob Brown and Frank Blake received Helen Keller Awards.
•Lions Theresa Brady and Jim Mulroy received Dream Catcher Awards.
•Lion Stan Swen received a Hearing Foundation Award.
•Lion Jim Newville received a Top Dog Award from Can-do Canines.

Comments Closed