ERHS’ top talents compete and entertain at Starfest

Rachel Wagenpfeil and Jordan Grzybowski of Jordan G and the Fruit Detonators sang "Dog Dogs" and got first prize. (Photo by Bruce Strand)

by Bruce Strand, Arts editor

Forty-seven acts auditioned for “Starfest,” twelve were chosen to perform at ERHS’s annual spring talent show Wednesday evening, and the winner was …

“Jordan G and the Fruit Detonators” — that is, a group led by Jordan Grzybowski and Rachel Wagenpfeil, two seniors who’ve been music and theatre standouts through high school and picked up one last ovation.

Accompanied by Marin Olson on guitar, Mikey Bayles on drums and Rachel Shaheen on keyboard, Grzybowski and Wagenpfeil belted out “Dog Days” with high energy including lots of bouncing and clapping and clever choreographer including starting the song from the wings while the band was on the stage.

Dupre Robinson and Fanaka Ndege danced their way to second place. (Photo by Bruce Strand)

Grzbywoski and Wagenpfeil both have gotten a second-place previously in this event and were elated to grab top prize in their finale.

Placing second was the duo of sophomore Fanaka Ndege and freshman Dupre Robinson with an alternately torrid and playful dance to the music of Dubstep. They had a fight scene, some rapping (by Ndege), a little femininity and a spectacular backflip (by Ndege).

Third place was garnered by a foursome called “Whosah” consisting of Dallas Erdahl of ERHS on guitar and vocals and three Grimes brothers from Maple Grove, Spencer (guitar, vocals), Mack (bass) and Dave (drums). After opening with a few bars of “Are You Gonna Be My Girl” they broke into their original song “Geometry.”

Ethan Sass and Bayles were masters of ceremonies and supplied both musical and comic entertainment. Judges were two students, Brandon Smith and Jordan Kennedy, and one faculty member, LaRoyce Chapman.

Spencer Grimes of "Whosah" sang an original song by the band. They placed third. (Photo by Bruce Strand)

The other acts who made the cut to perform  were a piano, guitar and drums group of Ana Ibenez, Ben Saffrin, Josh Walbolt and Josiah Evanson; Spencer Olson with a guitar solo; Cassie Reimann with a dance solo; the group Intrepid with Mike Anderson, Sam Olson, Jordan Peterson and Matt Jesperson; Carly Hagstrom with a vocal solo; Matt Zierden with a karate exhibition including breaking some boards; the vocal duet of Haley Gunderson and Johann Goggins; and Connor Jones with an original love song as a goodbye to friends and family as he looks ahead to joining the Army in three weeks.


Comments Closed