Golf: Rogers boys wrap 4th straight Miss. 8 title; Zimmerman places 7th

The Rogers golfers wrapped up their fourth consecutive Mississippi 8 championship and had four of the top five shooters for the season, with McCabe Buege at No. 1, after winning the finale at Riverwood Golf Club on Tuesday.

Rogers shot 291, St, Michael-Albertville 304, Buffalo 308, Becker 325, Cambridge-Isanti 329, Zimmerman 336, Monticello 338, Princeton 385, and Big Lake 387.

Buege was low with 68, followed by teammate Corey Muenzhuber and Buffalo’s Alex Holtan with 72’s. Rogers’ other scores were Jordan Rykal 75, Morgan Rask 76, Andy Suedbeck 79, and Phillip Ballard 86.

Zimmerman, placing sixth, had Tommy Hannan wit h82, Brian Barbeln 83, Derek Faulkner 85, David Molinari 86, Corey Foyt 88 and Jake McNulty 89.

Rogers has won 24 consecutive conference meets.

The season standings were Rogers with 168 points, Buffalo 125, STMA 113, Cambridge-Isanti 111, Becker 98, Monticello 66, Zimmerman 50, Princeton 25, and Big Lake 2.

Buege, Muenzhuber, and Rykal finished 1-2-3 in season average to lead the all-conference team, with Buffalo’s Dan Bollant fourth and Rask fifth. Suedbeck also made all-conference, finishing 12th. The top 13 were picked.

Zimmerman, placing seventh in its first year of golf, had no all-conference players.

Next for Rogers is the Section 5AAA tournament at Bunker Hills on June 2. Next for Zimmerman is the Section 5AA tournament at Fox Hollow on June 2 and 6.


Comments Closed