Baseball: Pioneers, with 7 Zimmerman players added, open Sunday

The Elk River Pioneers, their roster bolstered by seven new players from Zimmerman, will open the 2011 town-team  baseball season on Sunday at Rockford, 2 p.m.

Manager Ken Ott reports that 11 players from last year’s 6-15 team are back — Dan Ebner, Cory Kaminsky, Lance Johnson, Aaron Daugherty, Mathias Duevel, Jake Braun, Ryan Holmgren, Alex Hoff, Pat McCarthy, Tony Jarmoluk, and Jim Brown.

This is the first year that the North Star League permitted Ott to get players from Zimmerman, which has no town team.

“I passed the word up to Matt Kraus, the baseball coach there, and Marco Voce, the principal,” said Ott, “and we got seven players.”

They are Willie Ahner, Jason Hathaway, John Certa, Anthony Kopka, Austin Kopka, Dale Kilcheski, and Jacob Berwyn. An eighth first-year player is Conor Edwards from ERHS.

Pitchers  are Ebner, Duevel, Hoff, Jarmoluk, and Ahner, possibly more, said Ott. The main catcher is Daugherty, and Jarmoluk is slated to be the main shortstop.

The Pioneers’ first home game is set for May 15 against Loretto.

“We would like to see fans come out, and we think we can give them some excitement,” said Ott, who’ll be assisted by Dale Kaminsky.


Comments Closed