City Council makes appointments

The Elk River City Council has recently made the following appointments. All are three-year terms except the Library Board term which runs through 2012.

Ryan Setterholm

Ron Touchette

Energy City Commission
John Setala and Ron Touchette were reappointed and Ryan Setterholm was a new applicant who was appointed.
Setala, of Anoka, and Setterholm, of Minneapolis, are energy-related business representatives on the commission. Setala is an engineering manager at Great River Energy. Setterholm is an energy efficiency program administrator at CenterPoint Energy.
Touchette, of Elk River, is the Elk River Economic Development Authority (EDA) representative on the commission. He is the broker-CEO of Rock Solid Companies and the EDA president.



Lance Lindberg
Debra Mortensen

Heritage Preservation Commission
There were two open seats and three applicants. Lance Lindberg and Debra Mortensen, both of  Elk River, were reappointed.
Lindberg is a Realtor with Keller Williams.
Mortensen is the author of the book, “Images of America-Elk River.”
A third applicant was R. Michael Brubaker of Becker, executive director of the Sherburne History Center. The council expressed an interest in having him continue to attend HPC meetings.



Ice Arena Commission
Dave Foss and Dale Martin were reappointed to the Ice Arena Commission. Mike Niziolek was appointed as the park and recreation commission representative on the commission.
Foss, of Big Lake Township, is the Elk River Youth Hockey representative on the commission. He is the owner/president of Action Plastics Inc.
Martin, of Elk River, is an at-large representative on the commission. He is a business analyst with Great River Energy and one of the original members of the Ice Arena Commission.

Willie Jackson


Library Board
Dr. Willie Jackson was appointed to the Library Board. The other applicants were Mary Eberly of Elk River, an insurance agent;, and Nicole Novotny of Elk River, director of human resources for Guardian Angels of Elk River.
Jackson, of Elk River, is an educational consultant and small business owner. She has more than 30 years educational experience as a teacher, principal and district administrator.




Jim Nystrom
Mike Niziolek


Parks and Recreation Commission
There were two open seats and two applicants. Mike Niziolek and Jim Nystrom, both of Elk River, were reappointed.
Niziolek is a teacher and coach at Elk River High School.
Nystrom is retired. He was an engineer with Cretex.




Dana Anderson
Chad Westberg


Planning Commission
There were two open seats and Dana Anderson and Chad Westberg, both of Elk River, were reappointed.
Anderson is the retail manager for Jerry’s Foods Inc.
Westberg is a scientist, self-employed with Jera Farms, an agriculture development company.



Utilities Commission

Al Nadeau and Jim Tralle were interviewed by the council for a seat on the Utilities Commission.
Nadeau, of Elk River, owned and operated Nadeau’s Cleaners in Elk River for 26 years and is past president of the Minnesota Drycleaners Association. He also is a plumber.
Tralle is a former Elk River mayor who also has served on the Utilities Commission in the past.
Mayor John Dietz said when there were initially no applicants for the position, he recruited Nadeau.
Nadeau was appointed in a 4-1 vote, with Council Member Paul Motin voting ‘no.’
Motin wondered why Dietz didn’t recruit Tralle.
“I guess I never thought of Jim. He was retired and I thought he was done with public life,” Dietz said.
Motin said he just hates to lose Tralle’s knowledge base and experience with the utilities.
Council Member Jerry Gumphrey said there’s some benefit to having at least one member of the Utilities Commission on city water. The other two members, Dietz and Daryl Thompson, are not. Nadeau is on city water; Tralle is not.

Comments Closed