Felska, Hahn nominated for teacher of the year honor

by Jim Boyle
Linda Felska, a fourth-grade teacher at Otsego Elementary School, and Nichole Hahn, an art specialist at Rogers Elementary School, are among 108 teachers nominated as candidates for Education Minnesota’s Teacher of the Year.

“Linda is a teacher we all want to emulate and challenge ourselves to rise to her level of expertise and rigor,” said Otsego Elementary School Principal Erin Talley. “Her teaching talents are clearly recognized by all who have had the chance to work with her.”

Felska is known for gifts of creativity, competence and compassion.
She is truly a ‘teacher’s teacher,’” Talley said.

“Nichole does amazing things as an art teacher,” said Rogers Elementary School Principal Phil Schreifels. “She collaborates with teachers and artists all over the world.”

For example, Hahn has started an artist trading card program for our students with other schools around the world.

Hahn has also provided leadership to the school’s student council, which has had a positive impact on the school climate by encouraging all students to respect others and treat them kindly.

This year’s program will name the 47th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers from public or private schools.

The 2011 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced May 1 at the Northland Inn in Brooklyn Park. Over the coming weeks, a 23-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists, and then narrow the field to finalists.

Education Minnesota organizes and underwrites the Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program, which receives program and award support from the following organizations: the SMARTer Kids Foundation, the Northland Inn, the Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, United Educators Credit Union, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, Teacher Federal Credit Union, Pearson Education and Education Minnesota ESI.

Comments Closed