Wrestling: Thunder have 2 champs at Mora tourney

Zimmeman’s Zach Stepan and Mitch Robinson won individual championships as the Thunder placed seventh among 10 teams at the Mora Invitational on Saturday.

Stepan (17-0) won at 125 pounds with three pins and a 17-9 decision over Mora’s Ken Kastenbauer in the finals.

Robinson (14-2) won at 189 pounds with a bye, a 16-4 decision, and a pin of Annandae-Maple Lake’s Derek Rachel in 1:21 in the finals.

Weston Schwartz (9-5) won two of three to place third at 145, and Zack Copic (7-6) won two of four to place fourth at 215.

The Thunder have a busy week coming up with duals at home against Becker on Tuesday, at Big Lake on Thursday, at home against Buffalo on Friday, and the Zimmerman Invitational on Saturday.

Mora Invitational team scoring

1. Annandale-Maple Lake 220.5

2. Mora 193.5

3. Aitkin 153.5

4. Waconia 145.0

5. St. Francis 130.5

6. Albany 113.0

7. Zimmerman 111.0

8. St. Cloud Tech 104.5

9. Rush City-Braham 36.0

10. Spectrum-PACT-Legacy 27.0

Comments Closed