Elk River makes board appointments

by Joni Astrup
Associate editor
With a new mayor and a new year, some changes have been made regarding who serves on Elk River’s commissions and boards.
Here’s the rundown.

Gumphrey resigns from utilities commission

Elk River Council Member Jerry Gumphrey has resigned from the Elk River Utilities Commission.
Gumphrey served as the City Council representative on the three-member commission. John Dietz and Daryl Thompson are the other members.
Gumphrey asked the council to accept his resignation and appoint Mayor John Dietz as the council representative on the commission. Dietz has been serving as a resident member, but was sworn in as mayor Jan. 3.
The City Council agreed to appoint Dietz to be the council representative on the utilities commission.
The resident vacancy is being advertised. Applications are due by Jan. 14. For details, call 763-635-1000.

Mayor Dietz will not serve on the EDA
Membership on the Elk River Economic Development Authority (EDA) has been modified to accommodate a request by Mayor John Dietz.
Dietz had asked to remain on the Elk River Utilities Commission and not serve on the EDA.
“I just think it’s important for me at this time to remain on the Utilities Commission,” Dietz said.
Past membership of the EDA has been the mayor, three council members and three residents.
The City Council passed a resolution Monday, Jan. 3 to change the composition of the EDA to include four council members instead of the mayor and three council members.
With that change, the membership of the EDA now consists of council members Paul Motin, Jerry Gumphrey, Matt Westgaard and Nick Zerwas and the resident members are Ron Touchette, Pat Dwyer and Dan Tveite.

Opening remains on Elk River Library Board
There’s still one opening on the Elk River Library Board, and if no one steps forward Council Member Nick Zerwas will fill that slot.
Zerwas has been the library board’s council liaison, which is a non-voting position.
But if no one applies to fill the open seat on the library board, Zerwas will be appointed as the fifth voting member of the board.
The deadline for a citizen to apply for the library board is Jan. 14. For details, call 763-635-1000.

Council liaisons named to boards

The Elk River City Council made the following appointments at the first council meeting of the year on Jan. 3.
•Mayor John Dietz was appointed council liaison to the Elk River Parks and Recreation Commission. Council Member Nick Zerwas was the previous liaison.
•Council Member Matt Westgaard was appointed to the Energy City Commission. Former Mayor Stephanie Klinzing previously held that seat.
•Council Member Paul Motin was reappointed council liaison to the Elk River Planning Commission.
•Council Member Matt Westgaard was reappointed council liaison to the Elk River Heritage Preservation Commission.
•Council Member Jerry Gumphrey was appointed acting mayor for 2011. He will fill in if the mayor is absent.

Zerwas recommended to transportation board
Elk River Council Member Nick Zerwas is being recommended by the City Council to serve as a Sherburne County representative on the Region 7W Transportation Policy Board. The Sherburne County Board is expected to appoint Transportation Policy Board members this month.

Comments Closed