Farber re-elected School Board Chairwoman

Elk River Area School Board Member Sue Farber (at right) was re-elected chairwoman of the School Board Monday night. Here, Superintendent Mark Bezek and Administrative Assistant Londa Chambers go over a document with Farber in a light moment during the meeting.

by Jim Boyle
Sue Farber has been re-elected chairwoman of the Elk River Area School Board at an organizational meeting Monday night in Elk River.

She was nominated by School Board Director Janelle Henry, who expressed appreciation for Farber’s leadership in both difficult and pleasant times and for her willingness to do the job.

Henry also noted Farber’s roles on the executive board for the Association of the Metropolitan School Districts and in the delegate assembly  for the Minnesota School Board’s Association.

“She has an excellent background,” Henry said.
Farber was elected on a unanimous 6-0 vote. (Newly elected School Board Member Jane Bunting was out of town on a previoulsy scheduled trip.)

“Thank you for your vote of confidence,” Farber said after the vote. “I appreciate it.”

Jolene Jorgensen was re-elected the vice-chairwoman and Holly Thomson was re-elected the clerk/treasurer.

The only other person to be nominated for a post was Bunting. The newly elected board member had requested in an e-mail to Farber to nominate her for either vice-chair or clerk treasurer, “whichever she felt was most appropriate.”

Farber honored her request and nominated Bunting for the clerk/treasurer post, and read a statement of qualifications from Bunting. Her motion, which was only a motion and not an endorsement, died for lack of a second.

Jorgensen had already nominated Thompson to continue in her position as clerk/treasurer. Both Jorgensen and Thompson were re-elected to their posts on unanimous votes.

Comments Closed